June 4, 2010
Boundaries Commission members sworn into office

The Members of the Constituency Boundaries Commission have been sworn into office.{{more}}

The Chairman and the two other members took the oath of allegiance and the oat is of office at Government House on Thursday, May 27, a release from Government House said.

Chairman of the committee is Aldric P Williams who was appointed by the Governor General. The other two members are Arthur Williams, who is the appointee of the Prime Minister, and Selwyn Jones who was nominated by the Leader of the Opposition.

A Constituency Boundaries Commission is appointed whenever Parliament has amended section 33 (1) of the Constitution so as to alter the number of Constituencies into which Saint Vincent and the Grenadines is divided.

A Bill for that purpose was passed through the House of Assembly on March 4, 2010.