December 23, 2009
High Commission marks Independence with nationals in the UK

Approximately 240 Vincentian nationals and friends in the UK celebrated Saint Vincent and the Grenadines’ 30th Anniversary of Independence with the High Commission Staff at an extravagant Caribbean themed Dinner and Dance.{{more}} Attendees were treated to an abundance of fine Caribbean cuisine, the latest Vincentian Soca and entertainment by professional (and wannabe) limbo dancers at a West London Hotel.

The dinner was preceded by cocktails and words of welcome by His Excellency, High Commissioner Cenio Lewis. Following the sumptuous meal, guests were invited to an adjacent room where the High Commissioner read messages to the Vincentian Diaspora in the UK from the Hon Ralph E. Gonsalves, Prime Minister, and the Hon Sir Louis Straker, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Commerce and Trade.

There was a surprise for four nationals who were recognised for their contribution to the development of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and their services to the Vincentian Diaspora in the UK. To celebrate Saint Vincent and the Grenadines’ 30th year of independence and Vincy Homecoming 2009: Gloria Jack, Shirla Philogene (née Allen); Irma Carlini (née Jocelyn); and Vibert Cornwall, received ‘Certificates of Honour’ signed by the Hon Dr Ralph Gonsalves and the Hon Sir Louis Straker.

Following the presentation of award a raffle was drawn. First prize was a LIAT return tickets for two (Barbados – St Vincent – Barbados). Denzil (Ladd) Winsborrow, Chair of the New London Association, made surprise presentations of bouquets and gifts to the members of staff of the High Commission on behalf of the associations in the UK. The event, which concluded at 01:00hrs, culminated with limbo and dancing to popular Caribbean music.

The event was coordinated by Ms Bernice Barton, accounts/administration Officer, with the assistance of the other members of the High Commission staff: H.E. Mr Cenio E. Lewis, High Commissioner; Maxwell Charles, Minster Counsellor; Carolin de Freitas-Sawh, Counsellor; Marsena Ballantyne, Secretary; and Sylma Douglas-Small, Receptionist.