February 2, 2007
Students head for Malaysia tomorrow

Ten students would be leaving for Maylasia tomorrow to pursue studies at the Limkokwing College of Creative Technology for three years.

The 10 persons receiving scholarship are: Yonette Belamar who would be doing Mass Communication, Rohan Bullock-Digital Film and Television, Adrian Da Silva-Software Engineering, Ayeshma Abbott-Interior Architechtual Design, Norlan Jackson – Digital Imaging and Illusion, Nickisha Farrel – Information Technology, Jinelle Adams -International Business, Rachel Bailey – Fashion Retailing, Jennifer Forbes – Electronic Commerce and Shanique May – Entrepreneurship.{{more}}

Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves who handed the airline tickets to the scholarship recipients at a press conference last Wednesday at Cabinet room, said that the tickets would be for one trip to and from the Asian country over the course of the three-year degree programme.

He said that government would however be providing EC$6,000 annually to each student to help them with their everyday expenses since they were many miles away and would not be able to make frequent trips home.

Dr Gonsalves encouraged the students to take up jobs during their summer vacation to earn extra cash. He advised them to never feel that “honest work” which was within the framework of the law was “beneath them” and encouraged them to work hard at their schoolwork.