December 15, 2006
Eustace gets nod again

Arnhim Ulric Eustace has again been re-elected as President of the New Democratic Party, NDP at the 30th annual convention which was held on Sunday, December 10.

Eustace decided to relinquish his post and seek a new mandate which he received.{{more}}

First Vice President Senator Dr Godwin Friday, Second Vice President Senator St Claire Leacock, Chairman Dr Linton Lewis and Assistant General Secretary Norrel Hull were also re-elected.

New posts were taken when Senator Daniel Cummings won votes over Jeanie Ollivierre to take the post of General Secretary, Cameron “Dinky” Balcombe replaced Sylvia Sutherland as Treasurer and Vynette Frederick took over the position of Public Relations Officer from Israel Bruce.

At the convention, which was in its 30th year, 18 stalwarts were honoured while those who had passed were remembered in a moment of silence.

The gathering also saluted the memories of Owen Walker, Stuart Nanton and Kelvin Gibson.