New cabinet for Dominica
May 20, 2005
New cabinet for Dominica

Following his Dominica Labour Party’s narrow victory on May 5, Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit has named a new cabinet in which he retains the portfolio of Finance, Planning and National Security Minister while adding responsibility for Overseas Nationals.

The new look cabinet includes a surprise prominent Dominican entrepreneur, Yvor Nassief. Nassief is to take responsibility for Tourism, Industry and Private Sector Relations from September 15 2005 and reportedly will only accept $1 per annum for his services. {{more}}

However until Nasief assumes the posting, Loreen Bannis-Roberts, his Minister of State will perform the duties of tourism minister.

Former Tourism Minister and Leader of the Dominica Freedom Party, Senator Charles Savarin is the new Minister for Foreign Affairs, Trade, Labour and the Public Service. Savarin lost his re-election bid for the Roseau constituency but was appointed senator as Skerrit seeks to maintain the existing DLP-DFP allliance.

Ambrose George is the Minister for Public Works and Public Utilities, while Reginald Austrie is the Minister for Housing, Lands, Telecommunications, Energy and Ports.

Ian Douglas, a nephew of late Prime Minister Roosevelt Douglas, has been named Attorney General and Minister for Legal Affairs and Immigration.

History is being made with the naming of Kelly Graneau as Minister for Carib Affairs.

John Fabien, who first won the Grand Bay constituency in a by-election in April 2004 following the death of former Prime Minister, Pierre Charles in January 2004 is Minister for Health and Social Security while Senator Colin McIntyre is the new Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and the Environment.

Other ministers named were Vince Henderson, Matthew Walter and Rayburn Blackmoore.