December 3, 2004
10 awarded OAS scholarships

Ten Vincentians have been awarded scholarships by the Organization of American States (OAS). {{more}}

Scholarships were awarded to Debra McKie, BSc, Tourism Management; Charmaine Deane, BA, Spanish; Debbie Antoine, MSc, Information Science; Marise Butler, M.Ed., Literacy and Reading; Janice King, MA, Human Resource Education; Marleise Bowman, M.Ed., Educational Leadership; Ellison Clarke, MSc, International Trade Policy; Martina Dowers, MSc, International Trade Policy; Daniel Delpesche, MSc, International Trade Polic; and Jacqueline James, PhD, Agricultural Engineering.

The scholarships, which will be pursued at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill and St. Augustine campuses and in the United States, are estimated at just over US$334,000.

At the same time the OAS has announced the award of two professional development scholarships. The recipients are Rosita Snagg, director, Community Services, Ministry of Social Development, and Ronald Browne, air traffic controller 2, Civil Aviation Department, E.T. Joshua Airport. Snagg was selected to participate in a two-week workshop on Municipal Management for OAS Member Countries, in Seoul, South Korea from November 29 – December 10, 2004 while Browne participates in an International Course on Air Transportation of Dangerous Goods, in Jamaica, from December 1 – 10, 2004.

An OAS release said professional development scholarships are offered throughout the year to facilitate the participation of citizens of St. Vincent and the Grenadines in a wide range of courses at selected educational institutions.

OAS academic and professional scholarships are intended to support the study and training of outstanding persons from the countries of the Americas, in order to fortify the disciplines and institutions most important to building a strong future for their home regions.