Front Page
July 15, 2014
No directives given – Cricket administrator

Second Vice President of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association (SVGCA) Denis Byam has indicated that no directives were given to national senior male team selectors – Elvis Browne, Urias King, Gosnel Cupid and Lance John, not to select Harley Skerritt.

This was communicated via e-mail last Wednesday,{{more}} following concerns raised over Skerritt’s omission from the list of players called for trial for this year’s two-day Windward Islands competition, as well as the T-20 competition, both set for St Lucia in September.

“This new executive under president Shallow has not given the selectors any such advice; therefore, it is the understanding of the executive that the team presented was the best unit of 32 players in their opinion,” Byam responded.

“The policy of this new executive, as it relates to national selection, is to be fair to all players, and consider all players participating in the local tournaments barring the advice from the SVGCA to do otherwise,” Byam wrote.

The issue was raised by Skerritt’s team manager Carlos Veira, who on release of the training squad by Byam, replied: “Where is Harley Skerrit? Why is he still paying for a crime he committed over seven years ago?”

Support for Veira also came from current chairman of the National Sports Council Jules Anthony. Adding his take on the matter, Anthony concurred, stating : “I agree that Skerritt should be in the squad, what happen, is he banned for life?”

Reports are that Skerritt, a left-handed middle order batsman, had an infraction seven years ago, while the St Vincent and the Grenadines team was in St Lucia for the said Windward Islands tournament.

But Skerritt’s case seemed to have been tried and the verdict given, as indicated by Byam, who in his e-mail added: “Consequently, the executive has accepted the squad, and moreover lends support to these four selectees, who also had a good first outing last year.

“On behalf of the executive, I urge all the players to continue working hard, keep putting in the performances. Your cricketing future is in your hands,” Byam’s e-mail concluded.

The 32-member squad selected reads: Sunil Ambris, Miles Bascombe, Alston Bobb, Atticus Browne, Salvan Browne, Keron Cottoy, Kenneth Dembar, Dawnley Grant, Donwell Hector, Lindon James, Dellorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Rolando Wright, Romel Currency, Deron Greaves, Asif Hooper, Casmond Walters, Gidron Pope, Desron Maloney, Darius Martin, Marvin Small, Kimali Williams, Wesley Simmons, Anson Latchman, Shaquille Browne, Romario Bibby, Andrew Thomas, Rodney Lawrence, Joel O’Garro, Kesrick Williams, Ray Jordan and Ronique Laborde.

St Vincent and the Grenadines won both competitions when the tournament was staged in Grenada.