May 29, 2015
Senior OECS Squash title stays in Vincy land

St Vincent and the Grenadines again made good of home court advantage to lift, for the fourth straight year, the OECS Senior Squash title.

The host added the 2015 edition, which was sponsored by the National Lotteries Authority and Ezone,{{more}} copping the three teams’ (men’s, women’s and veterans’) titles as well as three of the six individual champions.

Championing the individual accolades for St Vincent and the Grenadines were Sherian Slater, James Bentick and Jules Snagg.

Slater had a perfect record of three wins out of three matches in the women’s Over-40 and fellow Vincentian Greta Primus was second with two wins and one loss, which was to Slater.

When the two squared off, Slater triumphed 13-11, 13-11, 3-11, 6-11, 11-9, as they carried the match to the distance.

Like Slater, Bentick made it a customary procedure, but had to sweat to see off second placed Mike Adamson of the British Virgin Islands.

Taking the contest to five sets, Bentick prevailed 9-11, 13-11, 12-10, 11-13, 11-4.

Bentick won all his four matches, while Adamson won three and had one loss.

And, Snagg made it three years in a row, when he outdid Kevin Hannaway, also of St Vincent and the Grenadines, 11-5, 11-7, 11-9 in the final of the men’s singles.

The British Virgin Islands, in the persons of Winston Findlay, Neville Sorrentino and Zoe Sorentino, stepped up to avoid total domination by the Vincentians.

Findlay, a Vincentian by birth, outdid his buddy Keith Boyea 11-7, 11-5, 11-4, to capture the men’s 60 and over singles.

For the Sorrentinos, Neville won the men’s 50 and over and Zoe – the women’s singles.

Neville ousted Patrick Martin of Dominica 11-3, 11-7, 11-8 in the final, and Zoe finished with four wins.

She outlasted compatriot Caroline Dubois into second place. When both met, Zoe Sorrentino won 11-8, 11-2, 11-4.

The British Virgin Islands, who last won the senior subregional title in 2012, finished second.

They will be looking to disrupt St Vincent and the Grenadines’ reign when St Lucia hosts the 2016 edition.(RT)