May 15, 2015
Four new outfits in BCL 2015

Four new teams will be added to the list for the 2015 Brooklyn Cricket League (BCL), which gets into high gear this Saturday, May 16.{{more}}

Joining the league this year are Miami Power, Janoon, Pak Brighton and Yankees.

They, along with defending League and knockout champs St Lucia, Cavaliers, Imperial, Middlesex, Queensbury and Diplomats make up the full squad of 10 teams in this year’s competition.

All teams, minus two of the Vincentian outfits – Cavaliers and Imperial – will be in action this weekend as the competition bowls off in earnest. Miami Power meet Imperial at Marine Park A, while Janoon play defending champs St Lucia at Marine Park B. Diplomats will face Yankee at Marine Park C, and an all Vincy showdown will take place at Seaview between Middlesex and Queensbury.

On Sunday, St Lucia and Diplomats will face off at Marine Park A. Also on Sunday at Marine Park B, Pak Brighton will take on Miami Powers, and at Marine Park C, Yankee and Janoon meet.

Matches begin at 1:30 p.m.

At Seaview though, long-standing Vincentian team Cavaliers will host the visiting Canadians team. Last Saturday saw a warm-up match between defending champions St Lucia and a President’s XI. President’s XI made146 for 6 in 25 overs. Vincentian Hyron Shallow top scored with 66.

In reply, St Lucia reached 147 for 7 in 21 overs, to win by three wickets. (RT)