April 30, 2015
Calliaqua Football League holds prize-giving ceremony, honours first president

The organizers of the 2014- 2015 Hairoun Beer Calliaqua Football League, last Saturday, staged a presentation ceremony at the Calliaqua Anglican Church Parish Hall to award the competition’s standout performers.{{more}}

Topping the list of awardees was Deomaji Samuel, who grasped the Most Valuable Player award for his 15 goals, which also earned him the most goals and best striker awards.

Samuel led the list of awards pouched by the competition’s champions – Diamond United. Dominating every department of the awards, Diamond United players copped all that were up for grabs.

Kevon Henry – best goalkeeper; Rohan Grant – best defender and Curlan Joseph – best midfielder ensured the sweep.

Diamond United’s manager Yolande London was adjudged the best manager.

More accolades went to Diamond United, as they also captured the team awards of best defending and best attacking outfit. Diamond United conceded 8 goals, whilst registering 43 on their opponents.

Diamond also pocketed the winner’s purse of $1,300, a trophy, the challenge shield and 20 gold medals.

The other individual awards went to Osei Thompson of GTM Prospect United – most improved player and Omar Cupid of 1998 Hillside Rollers – the most promising young player.

Apart from the trophies which were donated mainly by members of the Calliaqua community who are residing overseas, the individual recipients each got a $100 gift voucher from the General Employees Co-operative Credit Union (GECCU).

Taking the most improved team award was Maxx Strikers and the most disciplined team – Playin It Safe.

Meanwhile, dethroned champions of the league GTM Prospect had to settle for second, gaining $1,000, a trophy and 20 silver medals, while third-placed Choppins United got $700, a trophy and 20 bronze medals.


The organizers of the Calliaqua Football League also last Saturday night, bestowed honour on the first man to be at the helm of the league, Franklyn Evans.

Serving in the capacity for a decade, Evans’ tenure spanned from the league’s inception in 1978.

Presented with a plaque, with the inscription “An award for outstanding service as first President of the League,” an honoured Evans expressed delight in being recognized and promised to assist the league in future endeavours. (RT)