March 27, 2015
KPS run away with Primary Schools’ Athletics title again

Athletes from the Kingstown Preparatory School (KPS) proved to be a cut above the rest when the finals of the National Lotteries Authority Inter Primary Schools Athletics Championships took place last Tuesday at the Arnos Vale Playing Field.{{more}}

Holding on to their reign, the KPS amassed 313 points, distancing their nearest rivals, the Layou Government, by 79 points.

One of the pre-championships’ favourites, Layou Government put together 234 points.

Docking in third was the Lowmans Leeward Anglican with 188 points.

Closing off the top five places were the Buccament Government, fourth on 142 points and the CW Prescod Primary, fifth – 137 points.

KPS’ domination also showed up in both categories, as the school was on top in the male and female divisions.

The males counted 152 points, while the females tallied 161.

But there was more parity when the individual titles were dished out.

Anna Miller of the Layou Government School and Saniah Peters of the Evesham Methodist both compiled 10 points, to be joint Girls Under-7 champions.

Similarly, on the male side of that age group, there was a tie for the individual accolade.

Sharing the honours were Jaheim John of the Layou Government and Jamaine Keil of the Spring Village Methodist, who both accounted for 10 individual points.

However, Dexcian Williams did not leave any space for others to challenge her, as she netted 32 points, to take the female Under-9 title. Williams of the Pamelus Burke Primary added the Victrix Ludorum title to her winnings.

The Questelles Government’s Curwen Mc Dowald – 23 points – was the male Under-19 winner.

Kacey John with 20 points and Dejuan Collis with 24 points, took the Under -11 female and male crowns, respectively.

John represented the Kingstown Preparatory and Collis, the Stephanie Browne Primary.

With 32 points to her credit, the Buccament Government’s Ulanda Lewis secured the females 11 and Over title. Tyrique Bushay of the Layou Government was the Victor Ludorum and the males 11 and Over winner. (RT)