March 10, 2015
Local volleyball head elected to ECVA executive

President of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Volleyball Association Alana Mc Master has been elected to the executive of the Eastern Caribbean Volleyball Association (ECVA).{{more}}

Mc Master’s elevation came last Saturday when the ECVA hosted its Annual General Meeting in St Lucia.

An “excited, but timid” Mc Master told SEARCHLIGHT last Monday that despite her “mixed feelings,” she is up to the challenge.

“I embrace the position as a new challenge with opportunities to learn more about the administration of volleyball which would assist with the further development of the sport here in St Vincent and the Grenadines,” Mc Master stated.

Also at that meeting, Glen Quinlan of St Kitts/Nevis was re-elected as president, with Sabina Clement of the British Virgin Islands as vice-president. Antigua and Barbuda’s Wilbur Harrigan is treasurer and Brian Louisy, general secretary.

In his presentation, re-elected Quinlan highlighted several projects in the pipeline, with one such being a sustainable school development programme that can produce athletes that can feed into junior and senior teams.

Reports say that the proposed ideas will be further refined before a formal presentation can be made to NORCECA.

Last Saturday’s AGM saw president of NORCECA Cristobal Marte Hoffiz in attendance.

Hoffiz noted that NORCECA, over the past four years, has dispersed US$2,102,840.11 in the form of courses, equipment allocation, sports courts, seminars, continental tours and external coaches to member associations.

He reminded the ECVA, “We will provide you with the necessary assistance to build your house, but you must do the work.”

Hoffiz, who is seeking re-election as NORCECA’s headman, was assured by the 13 members present of unanimous support from ECVA.

Represented at the AGM were Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, Dominica, St Martin, Saba, St Kitts/Nevis, Montserrat, St Eustatius, St Maarteen, St Vincent and the Grenadines and host St Lucia.(RT)