February 6, 2015
Zefal Bailey retains Cyclist of the Year accolade

Zefal Bailey has retained the title of Cyclist of the Year, announced last Saturday night at the Murray Heights Hotel, during the awards ceremony of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cycling Union.{{more}}

Bailey, who won the accolade at the 2013 awards, outpointed his nearest rival – Cammie Adams.

During 2014, the SVG Cycling Union staged 13 events, with Bailey appearing in all, while Adams contested nine.

Bailey notched up five wins and eight second places, while Adams counted seven wins and two third places.

There were two other awards which went Bailey’s way, as he was the Category One champion and had the Best Performance in an event.

Stating that he felt “like a boss,” Bailey, who claimed that in some of the events he was unwell, but still participated, said he is eyeing another top award for a third straight time.

“I am going after it again this year … I want to make it three in a row,” Bailey proposed.

Taking the Category Two title for 2014, was the ever-chirpy Peter Durrant.

The 48-year-old Durrant, like Bailey, appeared in all 13 races. However, Durrant had a perfect record of wins in his category.

Another Category Two cyclist — Orel George pouched the Most Consistent Cyclist award. The always dapper George missed out on two events staged last year.

Meanwhile, Lucky Antrobus collected the award of Most Improved Cyclist.

Also gaining recognition at Saturday’s ceremony were the firms and individuals that assisted in funding and supported the SVG Cycling Union’s programme in 2014.

Brief addresses came from president of the SVG Cycling Union Trevor Bailey, as well as Minister of Tourism, Sports and Culture Cecil McKie.(RT)