January 27, 2015
Individuals, teams rewarded with trophies for TASVG Championships

Those athletes and teams that shone out in the various local championships staged by Team Athletics SVG were last Saturday presented with their trophies at the organization’s annual awards ceremony, which took place at Frenches House.{{more}}

Scooping the divisional winners in the National Juvenile Championships were Roshini Samuel — Under-7 female and Deshawn Phillips — Under-7 male. Both represented winners of the championships — Negative To Positive.

The Under-9 winners were One Williams of the Dubois Government School — the female champion and the male champion — Kareem Davis of the Kingstown Preparatory School.

Ulanda Lewis of the Dubois Government and Shamarie Roberts of the CW Prescod Primary were the Under-11 female and male winners, respectively.

Kristiana Christopher of the Thomas Saunders Secondary was the female Under-13 champion and Jevonnie Lavia of the St Vincent Grammar School – the male champion of that age group.

The Dubois Government School’s Zarnesha Myle — female Under-15 champion, and the St Vincent Grammar School’s Javon Rawlins — male Under-15 champion, also took the Most Outstanding Athletes Awards.

Meanwhile, in the National Club Championships, winner X- Ceed Sports Club collected six of the individual accolades.

X-Ceed won both genders in the Under-18, through Kerina Hooper and Erasto Da Silva, likewise the Veterans’ category, secured by Pearlitha Sylvan and Godfrey Harry.

Hooper and Harry were Most Outstanding Female and Male athletes respectively of the championships.

Following X-Ceed was IT-DAT, with five champions. The title winners for IT-DAT were: Ziah King – Under-16 female; Javid James – Under-16 male; Sorenya Miller – Under-20 female; Kasique Oliver – Under-20 male and Shantal Rouse ­­– Open female.

But it was IT-DAT that champed the National Relay Classic and the St Vincent Grammar School – the National Teams Championships winner.(RT)