January 6, 2015
Young Bush blooms again in Calliaqua New Year’s Day

For the second year running, Young Bush has taken the title of champions of the annual Calliaqua area New Year’s Day Five-a-Side Small Goal Football Competition.{{more}}

A Dwaine Sandy penalty was the difference last Thursday at the Culture Pot Square in Calliaqua, as Young Bush edged out Hill Top one-nil.

Navigating the semi-final, Kyle Peters and Roddy Thompson scored a goal each, as Young Bush Ballers secured a 2-1 victory over Axis Choppins, whose response came from a Deron Quashie strike.

In the other half of the semi-finals, Hill Top beat Sky Blue 2-1. Jean Richards scored both goals for Hill Top and Glenford Ashton netted for Sky Blue.

Jean Richards of Hill Top with four goals, was the top scorer in the competition.

The other team in the competition was former winners Meldon Ballers, who failed to register a win.(RT)