November 25, 2014
Outstanding schools’ netballers harvest rewards

The most outstanding netballers who outdid their counterparts and team mates in the 2014 Ministry of Education Secondary Schools’ Netball tournament got rewarded last Friday afternoon.{{more}}

The announcements came at the closing and presentation ceremony held at the Arnos Vale Netball Complex, following the completion of the primary schools’ festival as well as the finals of the Junior and Senior Divisions.

Taking the Most Valuable Player in the Junior finals was Allyah Anderson of the Central Leeward Secondary.

Anderson, who played in the goal defence position, is not new to such awards, as she was the top goal scorer in the women’s division of the National Inter Community League Football tournament earlier this year.

Taking the Most Valuable Player award in the Senior Division finals, was GTM’s Bethel High School’s Centre – Nerissa Delpesche. The energetic Delpesche was repeating the award she pouched in the Junior Division in 2012, when her school captured the title.

A member of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Under-16 team, which placed third in the Jean Pierre Caribbean Netball Association tournament earlier this year, Delpesche was voted the best junior centre court player in the 2014 LIME National Club Tournament, as GTM Bethel High School contested Division Three.

She also made the CNA team, selected from the outstanding players who featured in the tournament.

Bethel High’s Lianna Henry was the top shooter in the Junior Division, while Khadija Williams of the St Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua, was the leading shooter in the Senior Division.

Williams, the captain of the SVG Under-16 team, was also selected on the 2014 CNA squad of players.

The zonal winners in both divisions were rewarded with trophies.

Topping Zone A in the Juniors was the Sandy Bay Secondary, Zone B – Central Leeward, Zone C – Bishop’s College Kingstown and Zone D – the St Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua.

Like the Juniors, Sandy Bay Secondary came out ahead in the preliminary round in Zone A of the Senior Division, with the Bethel High taking Zone B.

Zone C winner was the Thomas Saunders Secondary and the Fast Cash Emmanuel High Mespo won Zone D.(RT)