June 13, 2014
Cane End reclaim Biabou football glory

The immediate priorities of the recently installed executive of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association (SVGCA) were laid out during a press conference last Friday.{{more}}

And, topping the batting order would be youth development, said president of the SVGCA Kishore Shallow.

“Currently we have revived the youth committee …One of the things going forward that we are going to be dealing with and this programme is going be chaired by second VP Denis Byam, is a talent identification programme, where would have cricket throughout the country and have a team actually going out and identifying young prospects, pooling them order of play, as both teams had played to a 1-1 tie in regulation time.

Following a goalless first half, Norris John completed a move, along with J’ Var Francis and Dan Laborde to send Cane End into the lead.

But SV United ‘s captain Kevin Quashie emerged from his position in the defence to restore parity, with a well taken shot that hit the bottom of the right upright, before coming to rest in the back of the net.

The outcome of the match was then decided from kicks from the spot.

Cane End took the challenge trophy, the winner’s trophy as well as $1,500 and three cases of beer, while SV United pouched a trophy, $1,100 and two cases of beer.

During the celebration, the words of Cane End’s captain J’ Var Francis summed up Cane End’s objective: “We came here for what belongs to us.”

Francis was making reference to Cane End’s dominance in the competition, having taken the league title on four consecutive occasions: 2009 to 2012, before SV United took reign in 2013.

En route to the title match, Cane End beat SLR Brownstown 2-0.

On the other hand, SV United saw off Unique Warriors 11-10 in kicks from the penalty spot in the semi-finals, after the two had drawn one goal apiece.

Unique Warriors earned the third place when they defeated SLR Brownstown 4 -2, earning a trophy, $800 and one case of beer.

Among the other awards, there was a joint accolade for most goals, as Velish Roban of Solidarity Inc Sparta FC and Shorn Brown for SV United both scored 10 goals.

Taking the best goal- keeper award was Desroy Peters – SV United; the best midfielder – Troy Browne of LP Boys; and the best defender – Ivan Clarke of SV United.

Jamal Blake of SV United copped the most valuable player trophy, while System 3 was adjudged the most disciplined team and Cha-Cha Go-Go Strikers the best dressed team.(RT)