March 7, 2014
Zefal Bailey in 2013 Cyclist of the Year saddle

Zefal Bailey nipped Cammie Adams almost at the finish line, to be named the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cycling Union’s Cyclist of the Year for 2013.{{more}}

Bailey had the title bestowed on him at a ceremony held by the SVGCU last Saturday evening at the Murray’s Heights Hotel.

Bailey, on his way to the major award, was also the Category One top cyclist.

Responding to his palm, Bailey, a student of the Thomas Saunders Secondary School, said : “ I am proud to be the Cyclist of the Year …. I want to thank my coach, my father, and I want to be on top again for 2014.”

However, he is aware that Cammie Adams is heading the points standing for this year, having secured three races on the trot.

“I have not started off well this year, but I feel that I will do better later down… I have no fear and my father and coach has showed me some things which I will be putting into practice for my next set of races.”

Also leaving the venue Saturday evening with two trophies lodged in his grasp was Martin Bollers, who claimed the Most Inspirational Cyclist title and the Most Improved Cyclist award.

Taking the Category Two award was Curtis Lewis, and Steve Ollivierre capped the Mountain Bike category title.

Peter Durrant sped away with the Master Cyclist award, and Niesha Alexander was adjudged Female Cyclist of the Year.

President of the SVGCU Trevor Bailey, who is also the president of the Caribbean Cycling Federation, disclosed at Saturday’s ceremony that regional carrier LIAT is partnering with them in the staging of regional championships, by offering concessions on the transport of bicycles.

St Vincent and the Grenadines will host the OECS championships in June and the Caribbean Masters in October. (RT)