February 11, 2014

United Insurance partners with Ministry of Education in staging Secondary Schools’ Cricket Tournament

The United Insurance Company continues to demonstrate that their heart is in the right place when they handing over a cheque valued at $8,000 to the Education Officer/Physical Education and Sports in the Ministry of Education Rosmund Griffith.{{more}}

The money represents the company’s contribution in its partnership with the Ministry of Education in the staging of the 2014 edition of the United Insurance Secondary Schools’ Cricket Tournament.

In handing over the cheque, the company’s manager, Mrs Tamara Brackin, expressed her company’s pleasure and continued commitment to secondary schools’ cricket.

“We at United Insurance are pleased to be partnering with the Ministry of Education for 30 rewarding years as part of our social responsibility to our blessed country’s young adults’ holistic development.

“We trust that our partnership will continue to bear fruits and that several of these young cricketers will go on to represent the national team and even the West Indies.

“Our company is certainly committed to partner with the Ministry of Education in achieving its noble objectives.”

Griffith, in accepting the cheque, was full of appreciation for United’s continued support.

“The Ministry of Education is certainly delighted to be associated with such a kind-hearted and noble company and is extremely appreciative of your continued sponsorship/partnership as we work together to develop our nation’s youth,” she stated.

“It is indeed heartening that even in these trying economic times that United Insurance has seen it fit to continue supporting the Ministry and for this we are extremely grateful,” Griffith added.

The tournament, which commenced on Friday, January 31, and has 13 secondary schools competing for the coveted United Insurance Trophy, the symbol of supremacy in secondary schools’ cricket, is in its 28th year of existence.

Several persons, including Ian Allen, Nixon Mc Lean, Cameron Cuffy, Deighton Butler, Ray Jordon, and Delorn Johnson, who “wet their feet” in this tournament, have gone on to greater things by representing national, subregional and West Indian teams.

Sandy Bay Secondary School is the defending champion.