RP Ballers register third double in Sion Hill netball competitions
December 20, 2013
RP Ballers register third double in Sion Hill netball competitions

RP Ballers have registered their third successive double hold on Division One of the Sion Hill Netball competitions.{{more}}

Featuring several current national players, RP Ballers last Sunday completed the double with a 37-12 win, fast forwarded by the forfeiture by Young Strugglers in final of the Friends of Sion Hill in New York Knockout competition. This added to the league title secured earlier in the tournament. The achievements in 2013 followed double titles gained in 2010 and 2011. There was no tournament in 2012.

Earlier in the 2013 edition, RP Ballers had copped the league competition, ahead of Young Strugglers and Coreas Trailblazers in that order.

Also doing the double in this year’s edition was C & R Enterprises Sion Hill which championed both competitions in Division Two. Netters placed second and Starlings, third in the league competition. More trophies came the way of Starlings of Owia, as they were adjudged the Most Disciplined Team, with Jonelle John also of Starlings being the most Disciplined Player.

Starlings received a total cash prize of $500, compliments area representative Arnhim Eustace.

Starlings, on Sunday, received the Best Banner award, which was adjudicated on the opening day of the tournament. Aycees Nice Radio Clinchers got the award for being the Best Dressed Team.

The most goals in the competition were registered by Clinchers’ Danielle Spencer who scored 120 goals from 176 attempts.

Hassan Woodley accepted the Glenroy Ottley trophy for being the spectator showing the most community spirit.

The Most Valuable Player of each of the thirteen teams which contested the tournament were acknowledged with individual rewards.

The recipients in Division One were Pearline Sylvan – Clinchers; Fredsecker Bowens – Trailblazers; Sherry Barbour – New Heaven Stars; Anella Samuel – RP Ballers; Mia Durrant – Nar Fren Dem; Passanty Benjamin – Stingers and Shemille Garraway – Young Strugglers.

In MVP’s in Division Two were Debbie Robinson – Future Stars; Yannisha Scipio – Netters; Keviesha Williams – Starlings; Suzette Jordon – Sion Hill; Niasha Yorke – Super Stars and Senesha Allicott – Sydney Strikers.(RT)