Calliaqua hoists another Stubbs Football title
November 1, 2013
Calliaqua hoists another Stubbs Football title

GTM Calliaqua United has taken the South East Inc. Football League major title for the second year in succession.{{more}}

And, for the second time in a row, Stubborn Youths were the ones who suffered defeat at the hands of the Calliaqua United outfit.

The right to lift the Frankie Browne Challenge Trophy and go home with the $1,200 cash prize was won through kicks from the penalty spots. This was necessary after both teams had played to a 1-1 tie at the end of regulation time.

It was a match characterized predominantly by a midfield battle and at times a dour affair, as neither team showed the creativity to outwit the other.

Home team Stubborn Youths opened their account through a Bevan Burgin strike, but that was cancelled out by a Lezlo Mc Kenzie item, also in the first half of play.

The second half was similar to the first, thus the inevitable of kicks from the penalty spot were the route of determination.

Calliaqua prevailed 5-4 in the decisive kicks.

Calliaqua defeated Brighton Veterans 2-1 in the semi-finals, while Stubborn Youths had recorded a 4-1 disposal of SVG Coastguard.

The final was followed by an extended closing ceremony, which heard remarks from president of SEDI Rosita Snagg; games secretary of SEDI Cetroy Wilkes; a representative of the Division of Physical Education and Sports – Julian Small; manager of the National Sports Council Cecil Charles and Parliamentary representative for South Windward Frederick Stephenson.

In the awards ceremony, Dwaine Sandy of Brighton Veterans was voted the most outstanding goalkeeper and Tori Thorpe of Brighton Star Blocks, the most promising youth player.

Stubborn Youths’ captain, Chesley Miller copped the top goal scorer award for his 18 successful strikes in the competition.

Also rewarded were the most valuable players of each of the nine teams which completed the competition.

Carapan Sports Club earned the Rickie Burnette trophy, as they were adjudged the most disciplined team.

Brighton Veterans took the Knockout Competition. (RT)