North Leeward Sports Association leads the way
July 19, 2013

North Leeward Sports Association leads the way

The North Leeward Sports Association is showing the way in spawning greater interest in cricket.{{more}}

The Association has introduced a system of rewarding each Player of the Match in its 2013 Vinlec T/20 competition with a $100 cash prize.

In the national competitions put on by the St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association, such awards are only given to persons who score a century, or those who take seven or more wickets in an innings, or those bowlers who have a match haul of 10 wickets or more.

Parliamentary representative for North Leeward Roland Matthews spearheads the reward, along with a friend of his who resides in England.

Additionally, all Man of the Match recipients will be presented with a plaque at the end of the competition.

The efforts of Matthews and his friend take over from Phillip Anthony, a poultry farmer, who offered a flat of eggs to each Player of the Match from the quarter-final stage onwards.

And, last weekend, three Players of the Match, Orlando Charles, Omar Tucker and Casmond Walters got their $100 cash award, as they starred in the matches contested at the competition venue, the Petit Bordel Playing Field.

There were wins for Somerset, Winterset Ball Beaters and Ajuba.

Somerset whipped Carlos James Troumaca Starlights by 83 runs. Somerset posted 210 for 8 off 20 overs, with Orlando Charles contributing 109.

In response, Troumaca Starlights were dimmed for 127 off 17 overs. Addeem Charles took 3 for 27, bowling for Somerset.

Meanwhile, Winterset Ball Beaters defeated Robertson’s Surveying Rising Stars by 20 runs.

Ball Beaters scored 192 all out off 15.3 overs; Omar Tucker crafted 79.

Fradel O’Garro took 4 for 3, bowling for Rising Stars, who were then ousted for 172.

Their unsuccessful run chase was led by Kesta Browne, who hit 35.

Kesroy Debique bagged 5 for 41, to be Ball Beaters’ most successful bowler.

And, defending champion Ajuba stopped Sharps United by seven wickets. Sharps United scored 166 for 7 off 20 overs; Maxwell Edwards made 41 and Kevin Michael 35.

Ajuba responded with 167 for 3. Casmond Walters punched in 105 not out. (RT)