Peters, Johnson make CPL final cut
June 11, 2013

Peters, Johnson make CPL final cut

Vincentian left-arm fast bowlers Kenroy Peters and Delorn Johnson were named among the Caribbean Premier League drafted players announced last Wednesday in Jamaica.{{more}}

Peters goes to the St Lucia franchise, while Johnson was selected to the Trinidad and Tobago set-up.

For Peters, his inclusion is very much welcomed.

“I must say it is a great feeling to be part of the first Caribbean Premier League, and I am honoured to be selected among some great players,” Peters told SEARCHLIGHT last Saturday.

Just letting the feelings sink in at this time, Peters said “It is for me to go out there and do my best whenever I get the opportunity”.

Peters, 31, who has represented St Vincent and the Grenadines, Windward Islands, Southern Windwards, West Indies Under-19 and West Indies B teams, added “Like better things are happening for me, the older I get”.

Completing the St Lucia franchise are Darren Sammy, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Tino Best, Tamim Iqbal, Shiv Chanderpaul, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Andre Fletcher, Garey Mathurin, Liam Sebastien, Dalton Polius, Kavem Hodge and Nelon Pascal.

Former West Indies fast bowler Andy Roberts is that franchise’s head coach, with England’s Matthew Maynard, his assistant.

Meanwhile, Johnson expressed delight in being among the non-Trinidadians who are part of that franchise.

He noted that he and St Lucian Johnson Charles are the players from the Windwards who were drafted to other teams. Charles was gulped up by the Antigua and Barbuda franchise.

Looking ahead to the inaugural CPL, Johnson, who holds the regional bowling record in T-20, in which he bagged 5 for 5 from four overs, said he wants to use the occasion to see how much he can learn from the likes of Dwayne Bravo and Ross Taylor.

“I want to use the opportunity to advance my cricket and learn as much from the more experienced players,” the 24-year-old Johnson projected.

The Trinidad and Tobago franchise also includes, Dwayne Bravo, Ross Taylor, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Aaron Finch, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Kevin O’Brien, Suleiman Benn, Adrian Barath, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Cariah, Miguel Cummins and Justin Guillen.

The CPL bowls off at the Kensington Oval on July 30, when host Barbados come up against St Lucia. Guyana will face Trinidad and Tobago at the National Stadium in Providence, Guyana.

Played on a home and away basis among the six franchises, the finals are set for the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad, August 24.(RT).