Spring Village adds on Biabou Football League title
May 31, 2013

Spring Village adds on Biabou Football League title

If an award were to be given to the undisputed champion of the 2013 Biabou Football League, that award would have gone to Garden Care Plus Spring Village.{{more}}

The Georgetown-based outfit added the league title last Sunday afternoon at the Biabou Playing Field, to keep an unblemished record intact.

In another commanding triumph, Spring Village outclassed Biabou United 3-1, to lift the challenge trophy, a trophy to keep and cash prize of $1,400.

Getting the job done for Spring Village were Jamarl Blake, who hit the back of the net twice, and Kevin Quashie, who added the other.

National striker Azhino Solomon replied for Biabou United, who were facing Spring Village for the second time in a week, as both met in the knockout final. Then, Spring Village outlasted Biabou United 4-nil.

Such was the dominance of Spring Village that they trampled Cane End 6-1 in the semi-final, en route to the league final. Braces from Blake, Quashie and Shorn Browne accounted for the double champions’ onslaught. Cane End’s lone goal was netted by Troy Wyllie.

Biabou United, showing that they were always in the shadows of Spring Village, came away with a 3-2 dismissal of Highlanders in the other semi-final. Solomon with two goals and the other by Alonzo Bute, gave Biabou United a crack at the big prize. Dennis Marshall and Esron Baptiste scored for Highlanders.

Biabou United had to settle for $1,000 and Highlanders claimed the third place trophy and $800.

Spring Village, apart from taking the double titles, claimed three other awards – one team and two individual accolades.

They claimed the best dressed team trophy, while Collin Joseph pouched the best midfielder award and Ivan Clarke was the unanimous choice of the overall most valuable player.

Biabou United secured two titles. Shemroy Ellis – the most outstanding goalkeeper and Kenroy Williams – the most outstanding defender.

The top goal scorer was Keith Greene of Colonarie Unique Warriors, who netted 12 goals.

The most disciplined team award went to Thompson’s Transit Force.

One of the highlights of last Sunday’s presentation ceremony, which followed the final, was the acknowledgement of the efforts of Dwight Samuel, who has been the fulcrum of the organizing of the league for many years.(RT)