Maple stomp on ASCO netball tourney
January 18, 2013

Maple stomp on ASCO netball tourney

Maple club, the oldest netball institution in the Eastern Caribbean, completed the Division 1 double on Sunday at the Gomea Methodist School hard court, when they took the knockout title of the 2012 Karibbean Tires ASCO competition.{{more}}

In a lopsided final, which at times looked like a festival match, the 57-year-old Maple club outstripped the Ministry of Transport and Works 93-40, with player of the tournament Skiddy Francis- Crick scoring 84 of her 98 attempts and Thelma Foster, 9 of 10.

For Ministry of Transport and Works, Gailene Gordon netted 31 of 45 and Nicole Sandy- Stevenson, 9 from 19.

Maple had earlier last week, formalized their retention on the league title ahead of CC’s Crystals and Trail Blazers.

Preceding that final, Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem recorded a 33-17 win over OSCO 2 to claim the Division 2 knock out glory.

Nar Fren Dem led in all quarters — 11-5, 19-8, 26-11 and 33-17.

For Nar Fren Dem, Anna Delpesche had 22 from 28 and Tamara Baptiste, 11 from 14.

OSCO’s tally saw Jonelle John registering 14 of 24; Teneka Baptiste — 2 from 4 and Keriann Small — 1 from 1.

It was one better for Nar Fren Dem, who docked in second behind Dutch Lady Clinchers in the league race.

In the presentation ceremony that followed, Skiddy Francis-Crick was the top goal shooter in division one, as she poured in 318 from her 340 attempts, to finish with a success rate of 94 per cent.

The Division 2 top goal shooter was Joslyn O’Garro of SVG Port Authority, who scored 112 goals from 181 attempts — an accuracy rate of 62 per cent.

Mishica Williams of CC’s Crystals was for another year adjudged the best centre court player, with Kaylene Thompson of the Ministry of Transport and Works, the best defending player.

The top awardees in the Under-16 Division were Shantel Dallaway of the Sion Hill Government School, who was voted the most promising player and Dericia Franklyn of the first place winners — the Gomea Methodist School topped the goal-scoring table.

Franklyn registered 28 from her 41 attempts — an accuracy of 68.3 percent.

The MVP of the Under-16 Division teams were Tyeisha Cockburn — Gomea Methodist School, Shantel Dallaway — Sion Hill Government School and Jems Theatre Youths — Deserie Laborde.

The Division 2 MVP’s were Brittany Williams of ASCO Youths, Kenisha Francis — Dutch Lady Clinchers, Jonelle John — OSCO 2, Delonie Sam — Nar Fren Dem, Diana Robinson — Everready Future Stars, Kimberly Hunte — Franklyn Combine, and Molecia Williams — SVG Port Authority.

The Division 1 awardees were Bownie Allicott — ASCO 1, Breana Gloster — Trail Blazers, Zipporah Lowmans — CC’s Crystals, Sophia George — Giant Malt Clinchers, Kaylene Thompson — Ministry of Transport and Works, Theodore Huggins — Pace Setters, Nikalia Nanton — OSCO 1 and, Skiddy Francis- Crick — Maple.

Trail Blazers was voted the most disciplined team.

The 2012 edition, which was carried over to this year, saw 20 teams starting the competition. However, 18 stayed the course to the end. (RT)