Organiser defends All Leeward tourney
January 8, 2013

Organiser defends All Leeward tourney

Chair of the All Leeward football league Clyde Robinson sees no duplication in hosting such a competition, granted the same teams will soon be engaged in the national inter- league/community championship.{{more}}

Robinson told SEARCHLIGHT on Saturday at the Campden Park Playing Field, at the opening of the 2013 league, that the competition will act as a precursor to the wider national set-up, scheduled to open next month.

“… I see it as a build-up to the inter-league to keep players in shape and fine tune their skills,” Robinson advanced.

He said the league will be contested on a home and away basis. This, he said, will give the teams more playing time.

He got support from President of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation Venold Coombs, who, addressing the opening, called on the windward side of the island to host an all windward competition too, as happened in the past.

“… The leeward should be commended for their foresight and creativity and also the way forward,” Coombs said forcibly.

Robinson noted that only the Campden Park and Layou Playing Fields will be engaged for the matches, which are scheduled for Saturdays and Sundays.

Following the preliminary round, the two top teams will contest the final.

Robinson noted that the winner is in line to get the $2,000 first prize and the second place will get $1,000, but these could increase if further sponsorship is sought.

He foresees that competition being completed by the first or second weekend in February.

The Hairoun All Leeward football competition, which is into its second year, will see four teams competing — defending champion Layou, South Leeward, Buccament and North Leeward.

But, notable absentee is reigning national inter league/community champion Barrouallie, which opted out of the competition for reasons Robinson was unclear about.

Host South Leeward made a winning start to the competition, downing North Leeward, 3-2, in the opening salvo on Saturday.

Nazir Mc Burnette and Marlo Marshall were on the score sheet for the victors.

Otis Matthews and an own goal accounted for North Leeward’s tally.

On Sunday, at the same venue, Layou got their defence of the title going when they stomped on Buccament, 3-nil.

Myron Samuel, Dennis Prescott and Wendell Cuffy scored for Layou. (RT)