Calliaqua United boss Biabou basketball again
January 4, 2013
Calliaqua United boss Biabou basketball again

Carib Beer Calliaqua United have retained the Biabou basketball tournament and ended 2012 with two titles.{{more}}

Before claiming the Biabou title on December 22, 2012 at the Biabou hard-court, Calliaqua United had won the national club title last June, albeit under a canopy of controversy.

But it was all superior skills that prevailed when Calliaqua faced off with host team Korean Divine Designs Biabou All Stars on the road to repeat the title.

But it was all over, bar the shouting, as the 2011 winners cruised to a 95-73 triumph – leading it all their way — taking the first quarter – 26-22, the second — 47-37, and ran away at the end of the third quarter — 72-56.

Player of the final Ishama Mc Kree was his usual high scoring self, at times showboating on his opponents.

Mc Kree was his team’s leading scorer with 44 points and Lezlo Mc Kenzie — 16.

For Biabou All Stars, Julius Keir scored 22 and Kimberley Goodluck, 20.

In reaching the finals, Calliaqua United had a 105-46 distancing of Paget Farm Rising Stars. Lezlo Mc Kenzie — 23 points, and Ishama Mc Ree — 19, were the lead scorers for Calliaqua, while Tauran Ollivierre and Gemery Richardson each scored 17 points.

In the other semi-final, Biabou All Stars stopped South Rivers Wings, 77-45.

Kimberley Goodluck registered 28 points and Julius Keir, 21 points for Biabou All Stars.

For South Rivers Wings, Shane Mc Dowall scored 19 points.

The intended match for the third place spot, which was set to precede the final, saw Paget Farm Rising Stars of Bequia getting an easy win, as South Rivers Wings did not show up for the match.

Paget Farm Rising Stars will also collect the most disciplined team award, while Biabou All Stars will pouch the most improved team trophy.

The prize-giving ceremony is set for a date to be made known by the organizing committee — the Biabou Educational and Sports Club.

Among those in line for awards are Julius Keir of Biabou All Stars, who had the best dunk, the most dunks — 8, the most blocks — 8, while Paget Farm Rising Stars’ Kristen Lampkin recorded the most rebounds — 62, the most assists — 25 and was his team’s most valuable player. Leon Jackson of South Rivers Wings had the most steals — 41.

Jackson was also his team’s most valuable player.

Ishama Mc Kree copped Calliaqua’s most valuable player award, as well as the tournament’s top award — the overall most valuable player.

The other valuable player awards for the other teams were secured by Kiran Matthews of Biabou All Stars Andre Charles — Sion Hill Pacers, and James Parker — Ratho Mill Super Stars. (RT)