Novice defuse Gomea Bombers to champ another softball title
December 21, 2012

Novice defuse Gomea Bombers to champ another softball title

CGM Novice had it all too easy Sunday at the Dauphine Playing Field, as they took the 2012 National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organisation 20/20 softball cricket competition.{{more}}

Novice, who two weekends prior snapped up the Greiggs title, defused Gomea Bombers by 7 wickets in Sunday’s final.

Gomea Bombers were restricted to 78 for 7 off their 20 overs; Ovando O’Brien hit 22.

Bowling for Novice, Chris King took 3 for 16 and Lenroy Danzel, 2 for 7.

King was adjudged Player of the Final.

Novice then rushed to 82 for 3 from 9.2 overs. Rohan Dowers 32 and Roderick Dowers 27 not out navigated the successful run chase.

In the semi-finals, the previous day, Novice outlasted Glen United by a whopping 147 runs. Rohan Dowers, 59, Hyron Shallow, 55 and Roderick John, 24, powered Novice to 211 for 7 from their maximum 20 overs. Cassius Welcome — 3 for 43 and Troy Harry — 3 for 62, were Glen United’s most successful bowlers.

Glen was dismissed for 64 in 17 overs; Everton Durrant — 3 for 12, Kentish Phillips — 3 for 22 and Roderick John — 2 for 23, shared the bowling spotlight for Novice.

Gomea Bombers though had a fought 4-run triumph over Gairy’s Construction Simple Boys to earn the right to meet Novice in the final.

Batting first, Gomea Bombers reached 108 for 7 from their allotted 20 overs; Ovando O’ Brien knocked 34 not out.

Simple Boys’ bowling was highlighted by Desron Maloney’s 3 for 37 and Casmond Walters — 2 for 25.

Despite Stein Joseph’s 49 not out and Elric Morris’ 24, Simple Boys failed to cross the line, as their response stopped at 104 for 5 from the maximum 20 overs.

Edwin Joe had 3 for 14, bowling for Gomea Bombers.

Simple Boys, though, finished on a high note as they took the third place play-off on Sunday against Glen.

Simple Boys posted 161 for 6 from their 20 overs; Desron Maloney 52 and Stein Joseph 35, not out. Bowling for Glen, Marcus Hackshaw had 2 for 14 and Afram Byam — 2 for 49.

Glen was dismantled for 51; Stein Joseph got 3 for 14, and there were 2 wickets each for Elric Morris and Xavique Alexander.

Novice, whose previous liens on the competition were 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2008, pocketed $2,000 and a trophy. Gomea Bombers received $1,000 and a trophy. Simple Boys earned $500 and a trophy.

The leading run scorer was Novice’s Roderick John, who amassed 387 runs. John was the lone centurion in the 2012 competition.

The top wicket taker was Nex Level’s Courtney Joyette, who scalped 16.

The organisers presented a plaque to Rohan Thomas for his outstanding coverage of the 2012 competition in SEARCHLIGHT. (RT)