December 7, 2012

Quarter-finalists determined in TBPO softball competition

The eight quarter-finalists in the National Lotteries Authority Top Belair Progressive Organisation T-20 Softball Cricket Competition have been determined.{{more}}

In the race for the title are Dr Thomas Injectors, Sea Operations Nar Fren Dem, Nex Level and ASCO, in that order, from Zone A. CGM Novice, Gairy Construction Simple Boys, Gomea Bombers and Glen United are through from Zone B.

The quarter-finals are set for this weekend at the Dauphine Playing Field and will see Dr Thomas Injectors meeting Glen United; Nar Fren Dem face off with Gomea Bombers; Nex Level take on Simple Boys and Novice engage ASCO.

Novice solidified their position last Saturday with back-to-back wins, including a 17-run victory against Bank of SVG All Stars.Novice posted 129 for 8 in 20 overs. Roderick John scored 21.

Bowling for All Stars, Andrew Little had 5 for 20. In reply All stars reached 112 for 5 in 20 overs. Desmond Blucher was 47 not out.

Roderick John picked up 2 for 11 and Kimani Thomas, 2 for15, bowling for Novice. Then, Novice overpowered Older Boys by 131 runs.

Rohan Dowers cracked 77, Kentish Philips, 53 not out, and Roderick John — 47, as Novice rattled up 212 for 3 in 15 overs.

Responding, Older Boys scored 71 for 7 in 12.2 overs when bad light affected play. Ashford Wood was the top scorer, with 27. Rohan Dowers snared 3 for 24, bowling for Novice. On Sunday, Dr Thomas Injectors defeated Georgie Valley Saints by 7 wickets.

Georgie Valley Saints were dismissed for 44 in 9.3 overs. Emil Small had 4 for 11, Damien Allen, 3 for 11 and Kezron Ashton, 2 for 21, bowling for Injectors, who then scored 45 for 3 in just 4.3 overs.

Augustine Corridon hit 32 not out and bowling for Georgie Valley Saints, Kareem Cumberbatch took 2 for 31.

Gomea Bombers whipped Valley Boys by 10 wickets.

Valley Boys could only make 62 all out in 16. 4 overs, undone by the bowling of Bernard Bushay, who had 2 for 4, Terrance Baptiste, 2 for 13, Kemron John, 2 for 15, and Kendall Payne, 2 for 19.

Gomea Bombers then erased the target, reaching 64 without loss, with Kevin Huggins hitting 33 not out.

And, the 2011 champions RSVG Police completed their wretched run this year, as they defaulted against Nex Level, to bring the preliminary round to a close. (RT)