CADO holds triple presentation ceremony
December 4, 2012
CADO holds triple presentation ceremony

The Calliaqua Area Development Organisation (CADO) staged a triple presentation ceremony Friday, for its three competitions in 2012.{{more}}

The top performers in the netball competition, the Premier Distributors Softball Cricket Competition, and the Hairoun Beer Football Competition received their prizes at a ceremony at the Mareyna Bar and Restaurant, at Calliaqua Square.

Friday’s ceremony was on the heels of the completion of two of the competitions.

The protracted netball competition began February 19, but only finished on Thursday. The football competition climaxed in a cloud of controversy on Friday.

RSVG Police took the softball cricket title, with Street Fighters second. There was a joint third place, shared by Digicel Stallions and South Rivers Wings.

Among the individual awards was the top run scorer, Trevor Bailey of RSVG Police, who scored 162 runs.

Police’s Salvan Browne copped the award for the best wicketkeeper, with the top wicket taker, being South Rivers’ Haniff Hooper, who captured 18 wickets.

Marvin Small of South Rivers copped the best all-rounder award.

The netball title was taken by Calliaqua United, second was Young Strugglers and third Ian Block Making Fully Loaded.

New Era Pepper Stars won the best-dressed award and the best banner award went to Fully Loaded.

The most valuable player of each of the seven competing teams was rewarded:

Calliaqua United — Cassey Cuffy; Ian Block Making Fully Loaded — Cassica Cordice; D&K Fashions Fully Loaded — Roshida Davis; Giant Malt Clinchers — Danielle Spencer; Pepper Stars — Janiel John, Nar Fren Dem — Mia Durrant; and Young Strugglers — Michelle Sam.

GTM Prospect United took the major award for the football competition, with Brighton docking in second.

Prospect’s Lezlo Mc Kenzie was the leading goal scorer, with 12 goals. The best midfielder went to Brighton’s Omari Millington, while SVG Coastguard’s Alexis Bynoe was adjudged the most outstanding goalkeeper.

Coastguard also stashed the most disciplined team award.

Most of the awardees were not on hand to receive their prizes.

Last Friday’s ceremony was addressed by area representative Clayton Burgin; chair of CADO Foster Hannibald; representative of the National Sports Council Ian Allen; representative of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Football Federation Clemroy Francois; and Sonja Lewis of the CADO netball committee, who also stood in for the president of the St Vincent and the Grenadines Netball Association, Dellarice Duncan. (RT)