November 23, 2012

Cricket association holds prize-giving ceremony tonight

The St Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association will hold its annual prize-giving ceremony today — Friday — from 7:30 p.m., at the Methodist Church Hall in Kingstown.{{more}}

This is one of the premier events to be hosted by the SVGCA, under the auspices of the Patron of the association, Governor General Sir Frederick Ballantyne.

The winners of the various competitions hosted by the association this year, as well as the top performers, will be recognised for their achievements.

The association will also recognize Genita Lewis, for her contribution to the development of women’s cricket, and the Bequia Cricket Association for its work in developing the sport on that Grenadine island.

Baldath Mahabir, a member of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board and director of the West Indies Board, will deliver the feature address.

Other addresses will come from Minister of Tourism, Sports and Culture Cecil “Ces” Mc Kie and the President of the SVGCA, Julian Jack.

The highpoint of the event will be the announcement of the five cricketers of the year, the junior cricketer of the year and the senior cricketer of the year.