Schools’ Football Competition reaches semi-finals stage
November 20, 2012
Schools’ Football Competition reaches semi-finals stage

The Coca-Cola Schools Football competition has reached the semi-finals stage, and the finalists in both the Under-16 and Senior divisions will be determined tomorrow — Wednesday.{{more}}

In the Under-16, St Martin’s Secondary play St Vincent Grammar School from 1 p.m. at Arnos Vale Two Playing Field, while the Bishop’s College Kingstown meet Dr JP Eustace Memorial also from 1 p.m., at Victoria Park.

The senior division matchups pit Emmanuel High Mespo against defending champions, Central Leeward Secondary, from 2:30 p.m. at Victoria Park and Georgetown Secondary against Bethel High School at Arnos Vale Two, also from 2:30 p.m.

The quarter-finals took place on Friday.

St Martin’s eked out a 1-nil win compliments an own goal during their match against Sandy Bay Secondary.

St Vincent Grammar School ousted the 2011 winner, Central Leeward Secondary, 2-nil.

Bishop’s College, on the back of a brace from Ashano Benjamin and a single strike from Shaquine Samuel, dumped Georgetown Secondary 3-nil.

Among the seniors, Emmanuel High School Mespo stopped St Vincent Grammar School 4-2.

Iron Dick, with two strikes, along with a goal each from Shaquin Millington and Romano Dasent, were responsible for Emmanuel High Mespo’s tally. Kimali Williams and Lopez Mc Fee responded for the St Vincent Grammar School.

Emmanuel High Mespo’s opponent in the semi-finals, Central Leeward, blasted St Martin’s Secondary 8-nil, with Oalex Anderson netting four times and Vasbert Ledger hitting a hat trick.

Meanwhile, a brace from Nazron Hoyte earned Bethel High School a 2-1 triumph over Dr JP Eustace Memorial, whose goal came from Brad Richards.

And, Georgetown Secondary defeated one of the competition’s favourites, Bequia Community High, 5-4 on penalties, after both team had played to a 2-2 draw.

An own goal and a strike from Gidron Pope were responsible for Georgetown Secondary’s regulation time goals. Shaquille Ollivierre and Deron Marks scored for the Bequia school.

At this phase of the competition, Oalex Anderson heads the list of goal scorers, with eight goals.

Anderson was the top goal scorer in last year’s senior category and in 2010 was the recipient of that award in the Under-16 division.

The finals in both divisions are likely to be played on Sunday at Victoria Park.