November 6, 2012
Quarter-finalists emerge in masters’ cricket

The quarter finalists in the SVG Masters T/20 Cricket competition have been decided.{{more}}

Topping Zone A is Stanley Browne Stubbs, with Computec Belfongo second, St Vincent Co-operative Bank P’tani third and Bequia fourth.

North Leeward Combined emerged winners of Zone B, followed by Sion Hill, LOG Enterprises Kingstown and RSVG Police, in that order.

The quarter-finals match-up set for this weekend pits Stubbs versus RSVG Police, North Leeward against Bequia; Belfongo takes on Kingstown and Sion Hill faces P’tani.

When the last of the preliminary round matches was staged last Sunday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field, Bequia and North Leeward both recorded triumphs.

Bequia defeated Da Silva La Croix by 16 runs.

Batting first, Bequia scored 130 for 5 off 20 overs. Ferdie Friday hit 37 not out and Godwin Friday 29. Bowling for La Croix, Norman Robinson took 2 for 16.

La Croix, in response, could only get to 114 for 6 from their 20 overs. Leading Bequia’s bowling were Lionel Lewis who had 2 for 25 and Roland Ollivierre with 2 for 24.

And, North Leeward Combined outplayed Ruddy’s Electrical Barrouallie by 17 runs.

Orville Franklyn made 36 and Wallis Stapleton 32, as North Leeward posted 126 for 4 from their 20 overs, batting first. Samuel Byam with 2 for 32 was Barrouallie’s most successful bowler.

In reply, Barrouallie was restricted to 109 for 9 from their maximum 20 overs. Leniff Patterson hit 27 not out, David Ellis made 23 and Bertram Stapleton contributed 21, but it was not enough.

Terry Williams took 2 for 30 and Meth Stapleton 2 for 16, to help see North Leeward finish in the ascendancy. (RT)