Clinchers  holding firm in Biabou T/20 softball cricket  championship
October 23, 2012
Clinchers holding firm in Biabou T/20 softball cricket championship

Pine Hill Dairy Clinchers began their defence of the Biabou T/20 softball cricket championship title with a win on Saturday.{{more}}

Clinchers registered a 52-run win over Bank of SVG All Stars as the 2013 edition of the competition began in earnest at the Biabou Playing Field.

Okeiph Andrews cracked 64 and Kendall Buntyn 27, as Clinchers posted 152 for 7 from their 20 overs.

Debrian Pitt took 2 for 8 and Desmond Bramble had 2 for 42.

All Stars replied with 100 all out. Kentish Pope was the lead batsman with 29, as Peter Richards grabbed 3 for 10, Kendall Buntyn 2 for 15 and Oheyon Toby 2 for 36.

Also on Saturday, Simple Boys cruised to a 70-run win over Simon Patriots.

Elton Williams scored 38, as Simple Boys posted 111 for 7 in 15 overs in the match, shortened because of time.

Bowling for the Patriots, Samuel Cupid picked up 3 for 15 and Omar Shortte 2 for 21.

But Patriots’ batting succumbed to the bowling of Eldon Morris — 3 for 6 — and Travis Cumberbatch — 3 for 14 — and was sent tumbling for 41 all out.

Shane Forde was the top scorer, with his 15.

On Sunday, there were wins for Ravers, Young Strikers and Shot Gun XI.

Ravers’ bowlers, led by Kwasi Marks — 3 for 8, Recarvo Williams — 2 for 15, and Ranique Warren — 2 for 17, combined to dismiss South Rivers for 86. Kadier Nedd and Marvin Small were the bright sparks with 28 and 23, respectively.

Ravers then replied with 87 for 4. Gregdon Martin scored 18, as Roland Wilkinson had 2 for 20, bowling for South Rivers in a losing cause.

Joining the winners’ bunch was Young Strikers, who overcame Biabou United by 10 wickets.

Biabou United took first strike and made 83 all out. Hermus Garrick scored 27.

Bowling for Young Strikers, Davidson Lavia nabbed 4 for 29 and Ambrose Williams had 2 for 10.

Desron Lavia cracked 44 not out and Zanelle Baptiste had 32, as they led Young Strikers to 86 without loss in 6.3 overs.

And, losing finalist Glen United were put to the sword by Shot Gun XI.

A boundary studded innings of 120 not out by Wesley Williams, which saw him striking 15 sixes and 2 fours, was the platform for Shot Gun XI’s 197 for 4 from their 20 overs.

Drumo Toney contributed 32.

Glen’s response ended at 115. Randolph Bascombe hit 30. Marcus Hackshaw and Elvis Woods both struck 27.

Bowling for Shot Gun XI, Sunic Pompey snared 4 for 27 and Kendall Jackson 3 for 5.

Twelve teams are participating in this year’s competition. (RT)