August 3, 2012
Peto Stars stop Troumaca in NL T-20

Peto Stars defeated defending champions Troumaca United by 56 runs in one of two matches played last Saturday in the VINLEC North Leeward T/20 Cricket Competition, at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.{{more}}

Batting first, Peto Stars scored 169 for 7, off 20 overs. Jeffron Whyte led the way, scoring 45. Nigel Small contributed 30. Emil Anthony took 2 for 48, bowling for Troumaca United.

In response, Troumaca United was dismissed for 113, off 13.1 overs.

Kishore Shallow hit 45 and Sheldon Hooper 35. Vidal Edwards took 4 for 24 and Shan Lavia 3 for 35, to send the 2011 winners off on a losing note.

But the other Troumaca unit, Troumaca Starlight, was in winner’s row, as they got the better of Sharpes United by 55 runs.

Taking first strike, Troumaca Starlight made 160 for 7, off their allotted 20 overs. Leshawn Lewis hit a topscore of 72 and Nicklan Alexander made 25.

Augustus Cato had 2 for 10 and Kerry Isaacs 2 for 24, bowling for Sharpes United.

In reply, Sharpes United was dismissed for 105, off 14 overs. Winston Skinner was the lead batsman with 39. Kentish John took the first hat-trick for this season and his second in the history of the tournament, as he bagged 5 for 22. Dorson Cottle chipped in with 3 for 24.

The tournament continues this Saturday and Sunday, with two matches scheduled for each day.(RT)