July 22, 2011

Troumaca makes winning start to title defence

Defending champions Troumaca United made a winning start in their defence of the VINLEC North Leeward T/20 Cricket Tournament, when the 2011 edition began in earnest last weekend at the Petit Bordel Playing Field.{{more}}

On Sunday, the 2010 winners CJ Troumaca United batted first and made 182 for 8 off 20 overs.

Miles Bascombe slammed 80, Elron Lewis, 29, and Doyle Mc Allister, 24.

Bowling for Future Legends, Amansford Richards had bowling figures of 4 for 32, and Peter Morris, 2 for 33.

In reply, Future Legends was restricted to 146 for 8 off their 20 overs. Akeem Shallow was the topscorer with 64, and Eston Robertson made 23. Kenneth Dember was the most successful bowler for Troumaca, with 4 for 23.

Also on Sunday, Ruddy’s Electrical defeated Ajuba by eight wickets. Ajuba scored 121 for 8 off 20 overs, with Kenny Stapleton hitting 31, and Reginald Jeffery, 25. Alfie Gould took 2 for 26, bowling for Ruddy’s Electrical, which responded with 123 for 2 off 10.2 overs.

Harley Skeritt notched up 56, and Christopher Campbell, 33.

In the competition’s opener on Saturday, Somerset whipped CJ new comers Troumaca Star lights by six wickets.

CJ Troumaca Starlights got their baptism and made 105 all out off 17.5 overs. Nelson King, with 3 for 30, was the main wicket taker for Somerset.

Orville Franklyn then hit a topscore of 51 as Somerset reached 110 for 4 off 14.3 overs. Zemron Providence grabbed 3 for 9, bowling for Troumaca Starlights.

The tournament continues this weekend.(RT)