Bailey Climbs to the top
March 1, 2011
Bailey Climbs to the top

Shimano Bailey is already the front runner to take the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cycling Union’s 2011 Cyclist of the Year Award.{{more}}

Following his two victories in a 20 mile event and a 28-mile event, Bailey secured his third triumph last Sunday afternoon, when he was first to hit the tape at the Belmont Tourist Look-Out in the four-mile Power Climb Hill. The event had started at SG De Freitas Motors building in Arnos Vale.

Bailey successfully navigated the hilly terrain, winning in a time of 18 mins 40.58 secs. His victory left Marlon Antrobus in second position, setting a time of 19 mins 32.99 secs.

Cammie Adams settled for third in 19 mins 53.62 secs. Adams was the first to finish in the Mountain Bike category.

The first and second place prizes were sponsored by Bay Hill Apartments, with SG De Freitas the donor of the third place prize.

Securing the fourth spot was Oral Baptiste in 20 mins 05.18 secs and fifth was Lucky Antrobus in a time of 22 mins 25.18 secs.

Shane Cole was the sixth place finisher in 23 mins 22.49 secs.

The next race is set for Sunday, March 12, with the three-stage race, which will cover a distance of 37 miles. (RT)