Masters Cricket Final under the lights?
August 27, 2010
Masters Cricket Final under the lights?

First Vice President of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association, Elson Crick, has suggested that the organizers of the National Masters Cricket Competition stage the finals under the lights at Victoria Park.{{more}}

Crick made the proposal known at the opening of the 2010 edition of the competition last Saturday at the Arnos Vale One Playing Field.

If Crick’s suggestion becomes a reality, it will be a near novelty for the sport here in St. Vincent and the Grenadines at the competitive level.

Crick also said he was glad that there was masters Cricket around, as it gives persons who are advanced in age and are critical of young players to show them how the game should be played.

Also addressing the opening were new chairman of the organizing committee of the competition, Selwyn Allen, and former chairman Cecil Mc Kie, the Minister of State in the Ministry of National Mobilisation etc.

A Sixes competition among eight of the participating teams followed. however, it was incomplete, owing to the late start of the opening ceremony and interruptions from rain.

But when competition began in earnest, Ruddy’s Electrical Barrouallie Masters made a winning start with a comfortable 41 run win over Dasent Cottage at the Arnos Vale One on Sunday.

Former St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Windwards and Combined Islands opening batsman Lance John topscored with 38, and Kendall Douglas stroked 31 not out, and Extras contributed 33, as Barrouallie posted 148 for 6 in their 20 overs.

James George, 2 for 15, and Carlos Biddy, 2 for 21, bowling for Dasent Cottage, who in reply made 107 for 6 also from their 20 overs.

James George was 49 not out and there were 21 extras. Samuel Hazelwood, 2 for 23, and Rozendale Francis, 2 for 25, were the most successful bowlers for Barrouallie.

The two teams are stacked in Zone B, along with Ajuba, North Leeward, Police, Pastures, Buccament, and defending champions Log Enterprises Kingstown.

In Zone A are Sion Hill, Stubbs, Belfongo, London, P’tani, Arnos Vale and Bequia Masters teams. (RT)