August 10, 2010
Bequia to get new T/20 Cricket champion

There will be a new champion in the Hairoun Beer Bequia 20/20 Cricket Competition.{{more}}

This after three time champion Admiralty Transport Youth Combine was beaten by their arch rivals Knights Trading Aussies.

Since the inception of the competition in 2007, both teams have contested all three finals. Youth Combine won the inaugural competition, and in 2008, they shared the spoils as they ended in an unusual tie.

In last year’s edition, Youth Combine beat Aussies by 26 runs and clashed again in last weekend’s semi finals.

Aussies batted first and scored 154 for 8 off their 15 overs.

Dean Browne hit 69. Joseph Patrick picked up 2 for 21, Mc Neil Morgan 2 for 22 and Ellis Lavia 2 for 24.

Defending champions Youth Combine fell for 144, to surrender the title that they had won last year.

Morgan hit 35, as Razine Browne snared 3 for 27. Mishack Williams took 2 for 28 and Dean Browne 2 for 31.

It meant that Aussies was making their fourth consecutive visit to the finals.

And for the first time, it will be a team, other than Youth Combine.

Aussies opponents would be Bequia Express West side Knockers, who beat De Graduates on a faster scoring rate after rain interrupted play.

Versatile sportsman Cosmus Hackshaw, who is also an accomplished basketball player, slammed 136, which included 16 sixes and 6 fours.

Glendell Gregg made 43 and Terrance Mc Cree 28. Bruce Ollivierre took 2 for 34, bowling for De Graduates amidst Hackshaw’s onslaught.

De Graduates was 45 for 2 in 6.5 overs, when heavy rain came and ended proceedings at the Clive Tannis Playing Field.

The finals is set for this Sunday, August 15. (RT)