December 11, 2009
Local Cricketers awarded for their performance

The top performers of the 2009 national Cricket programme, under the auspices of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association, were awarded for their efforts in the various competitions at the Association’s annual Presentation and Awards Ceremony last Friday night, December 4, at the Methodist Church Hall in Kingstown.{{more}}

Copping the major awards was national senior captain Linden James, who was voted Senior Cricketer of the Year and secured the Zepton Greaves trophy after being adjudged the Best All rounder.

During the 2009 RBTT Premier Division competition, James led OLA Radcliffe to share the title with the News Spartans. In the process, he scored 376 runs, the most runs by any batsman in that division. James’s aggregate included two centuries. Known for his wicket keeping, James gathered seven wickets with his bowling, to return the best bowling average of 7.43 runs a piece.

James also led St. Vincent and the Grenadines to the Windwards senior two day title for the first time since 2003.

Joining James in the spotlight was Ronnique Laborde of North Leeward.

Laborde was the Bottlers First Division’s Best All rounder with his 246 runs and 24 wickets. Laborde also raked in the Most Runs and Most Wickets awards, and was one of three century makers in the First Division. Laborde was the lone bowler in that division to take seven wickets in an innings.

Laborde, James, Keron Cottoy, Atticus Browne and Dellorn Johnson were the Five Cricketers of the Year.

The other major individual awards presented in the Premier Division saw Javon Samuel of Irie Travel Packers and Cottoy of Victors One being the joint top wicket takers with 26 each.

Alfie Gould of Packers returned the Best Batting Average, 132.5 runs.

Cottoy, Samuel, Javed Harry of Victors Two, and Dyke Cato of OLA Radcliffe were the bowlers who took ten wickets in a match. Elmore Alexander of Police Two was rewarded for taking seven wickets in an innings.

Dawnley Joseph of Spartans, with two centuries, and Harley Skerritt and Marvin Small of third placed team MVC Rivals, with one each, completed the list of centurions in the top division.

In the First Division, Gerald Gould of champions Police One and Andre Hunte of losing finalist ASCO One, each captured ten wickets in an innings.

Rawl Baptiste of Owia Stars held the Best Batting Average, 57.67 runs, with Jenry Ollivierre of Ruddy’s Electrical Unique Warriors, the Best Bowling Average, 6.11 runs per wicket.

In the Glenroy “Hart” Durrant sponsored Zonal Under-15 Division, Otis Matthews of champs North Leeward scored the most runs, 162. He was voted the Most Valuable Player and had the Best Batting Average, 81.

Matthews’s team mate Zimron Providence had the Best Bowling Average, 4.89, with Lenson Spring of North Windward, the Most Wickets, 14.

Prizes were also presented to the top performers in the National Lotteries Neil Williams 20/20 Competition, which saw Donson Andrews of losing finalist Victors One taking the awards for Most Runs, 341,and Most Boundaries, 25 sixes and 14 fours. The Most Wickets Award, 18, was won by Cottoy and a special award went to Augustus Mofford for his 5 for 13.

The highest individual score of 88 was made by Sunil Ambris of Eat Rite Saints, while Seon Sween of Victors One was the Player of the Final.

The Association also honoured businessman Ken Boyea, umpire Gary White, and corporate sponsors, RBTT Bank and Bottlers St. Vincent Limited.

Cricket enthusiast Berkley “Buck-Buck” Roberts received the Dr. Kenneth Antrobus Award. (RT)