Central Leeward, Emmanuel Mespo on High
November 20, 2009

Central Leeward, Emmanuel Mespo on High

The Emmanuel High Mespo and the Central Leeward Secondary School, formerly the Barrouallie Secondary, were on a high last Wednesday afternoon after securing the Senior and Junior Divisions of the Vita Malt Secondary Schools’ Netball Competition.{{more}}

The packed Kingstown Netball Centre saw Central Leeward in a repeat of the final played earlier this year retain their title, getting past Troumaca Secondary 39-35.

Troumaca, who emerged winners in Zone D, showed early signs of a possible reversal in fortunes, as they took the first quarter 9-8. But as true champions, Central Leeward took charge to take the second quarter 20-17, and the third 30-26.

Carlene Douglas of Central Leeward Secondary was named Most Valuable Player of the Final.

In the Senior Division which followed, Emmanuel High Mespo outpointed Bethel High School.

In dominating fashion, the lasses from the Marriaqua Valley institution led the way in all quarters.

They finished 13-7 in the ascendancy at the end of the first quarter, then established a seven point lead at the half way mark, as the score read 21-14.

The Zone B top team,Emmanuel Mespo cranked their engine into overdrive in the crucial third quarter with a 33-18 score line.

Finally, they romped to a 44-25 triumph, to carry the title back to the valley. And, not done, Emmanuel Mespo’s Kennisha Antoine was voted the Most Valuable Player of the Final.

Also on the awards list were the preliminary round top shooters. Ariel Stephens of the Troumaca Secondary scored 111 from her 146 attempts, with Kimberly Benn of the St. Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua scoring 69 from her 109 attempts at the net.

The Girls’ High School, winner of Zone C, copped the Most Disciplined Team in the Senior Division. The Mountain View Academy secured that award among the Juniors and was the top school emerging from Zone B

The other awardees were St. Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua , who won Zone A, at both the Junior and Senior levels and the Thomas Saunders Secondary, Zone C winners in the Junior Division.(RT)