March 6, 2009
Cato dykes Victors Two

Off spinner Dyke Cato snared ten wickets to send his team ECGC Radcliffe to join MVC Rivals and the News Spartans at the top of the table in the RBTT Premier Division of the National Cricket Competition.{{more}}

Cato, who opened the bowling at the Sion Hill Playing Field, which hindered his team’s faster bowlers because of a sandy outfield, bagged 5 for 26, in Victors Two’s first innings, then took 5 for 14 when they batted a second time, to finish with a match haul of 10 for 40.

But it was not a good showing for the nation’s premier cricketers.

Victors Two was shot out for 55, batting first. Hezron Lawerence assisted Cato with 3 for 9.

But Radcliffe, one of the top teams in the competition, limped to 58. Ray Jordan took 5 for 16. Victors Two returned to the crease also on Saturday. They were dismissed early on Sunday morning for a paltry 30. Left arm fast bowler Dellorn Johnson helped Cato with 3 for 4, to set his team 33 to win.

Radcliffe knocked off the target losing two wickets.

In the other Premier Division fixture, Eat Rite Saints got first innings over Victors One.

Rodrigo Thomas topscored with 64. Veteran player Walford Ambris made 43, and Kentish Jacobs, 29 not out. Bowling for Victors One, Keiron Cottoy took 4 for 52, Zimron Providence, 2 for 25, and Norlan Williams, 2 for 69.

Victors One, last year’s runners up, and Neil Williams 20/20 title holders, could only make 98. Donson Andrews made 28. Jacobs, 4 for 21, and Leon Mc Allister, 3 for 46.

And, with the follow on enforced, Victors One was 133 for 7 at the close. Seon Sween struck 51, Kashaka Cupid, 30. Ted Roberts, 2 for 18, and Mac Allister, 2 for 27, bowling for Saints.

A similar tale came in the Bottlers First Division.

Unique Warriors crushed Sion Hill by an innings and 180 runs.

Desron Lavia and Jenry Ollivierre both had 3 for 12, and Jerome Jack, 3 for 24, as Sion Hill was bundled out for 55.

In reply, Unique Warriors posted 261 for 6 declared. Christopher Campbell, 80 not out, Ollivierre, 65. Brothers Ronald Medford, 2 for 21, and Joseph Medford, 2 for 55, bowling for Sion Hill.

And Sion Hill made 26 in the second innings. Ollivierre, 5 for 6, and Elton Joseph, 2 for 2.

Similarly, ASCO triumphed over North Leeward., but by a mere 13 runs. ASCO scored 103, with Desron Maloney making 46. Nelson Williams bagged 5 for 25, Ronnique Laborde, 2 for 29.

North Leeward built up a lead of 54, as they replied with 157. Peter Morris, 35, Akeem Shallow, 25. Kimani Thomas, 4 for 46; Andre Hunte, 3 for 33.

ASCO’s second innings saw them being bowled out for 141. Nicos Davis made 36. Williams, 4 for 22, and Laborde, 3 for 13.

North Leeward were dismissed for 74, as they went after 87 for full points.

Defending champions, Log Enterprises Masters, who again did not accept the promotion to the Premier Division, beat Owia Stars by six wickets.

Set 163 to win, Log Masters, on the back of a belligerent 76 from former St. Vincent and the Grenadines player, Sylvannus Morgan, reached 168 for 4. Morgan hit ten sixes, and Harvey Pope chipped in with 44.

Rawle Baptiste had topscored with 29, and Shem Browne, 26, as Owia made 118. Sylvannus Morgan, 4 for 13, Jimmy Sam, 2 for 19, and Bradley Brooker, 2 for 24.

Log Masters fell short on first innings for 109. Elvis Browne, 30. Emron Lorraine, 3 for 10, Okeefe Jordan, 3 for 14.

Owia in their second innings declared at 153 for 4. Jimi Lavia hit 69 and Omari Lavia, 46. (RT)