February 13, 2009
Rugby West Indies names its player pool for HK-7

The RWI Men’s Sevens Team named their respective player pool for their upcoming international tournament, Hong Kong Sevens.{{more}}

With 19 players being invited to the GTT Cellink Barbados Trial Camp, February 26 – March 1, competition will be keen for the final squad.

Among those invited to Barbados are forwards from Trinidad Jason Clark, Andre Cabera, Graeme Alkins and Wayne Kelly, from Bahamas Andrew Bain and Dan Woodsede, and from Cayman Islands Josh Clarke. Backs are Claudius Butts (Guyana), from Trinidad Kidane Silverthorne and Keron Campbell, Hollis Green (St. Vincent) and Duran Beadle (Bahamas). The scrumhalves are Albert LaRose (Guyana), Michael Wilson (Cayman) and Tom Healy (Bermuda). Utility players are Kelson Figaro (Trinidad), Jeremico Cooper (Bahamas) and Rupert Giles (Guyana).

The players’ coaches will undertake fitness, strength and speed tests prior to their arrival in Barbados. Coach Whipple expects a very competitive camp.

“We have played 16 players in the first two tournaments in our buildup to Hong Kong, the Trinidad Sevens and the Punta del Este Sevens. We have added a couple of new faces who weren’t available in the first two tournaments. I expect the camp to be very physical. The prize is the tournament of a lifetime. We are going to play a lot of games in the camp. I expect the players to bring a high level of intensity on to the field. “

Players not available for the Trials but available for final selection include Kevin McKenzie (Guyana), Luther Burrell (Jamaica) and James Jones (Jamaica/St. Kitts).

“This is the culmination of 4 years and we expect to gain the respect of the other international sides with our high work rate and up tempo game. Thanks to the Hong Kong Sevens accommodating our requests and Doug Tate, Director of Sevens for Rugby Canada, we are undertaking a joint camp with Canada prior to flying to Hong Kong. “

Rugby West Indies Sevens Pool

Graeme Alkins (Caribs, Trinidad)

Bevon Armitage (Doncaster, Trinidad)

Andrew Bain (Bahamas)

Duran Beadle (Bahamas)

Luther Burrell (Leeds, Jamaica/St. Kitts)

Claudius Butts (Guyana)

Andre Cabera (UTT, Trinidad)

Keron Campbell (UWI, Trinidad)

Jason Clark (UTT, Trinidad)

Josh Clarke (Bristol, Cayman)

Jeremico Cooper (Bahamas)

Kelson Figaro (UTT, Trinidad)

Rupert Giles (Hartsbury, Guyana)

Hollis Green (St.Vincent)

Tom Healy (Bermuda)

James Jones (Sale, Jamaica)

Wayne Kelly (UTT, Trinidad)

Albert LaRose (Guyana)

Kevin Mckenzie (Bracknell, Guyana)

Kidane Silverthorne (Rainbow, Trinidad)

Richard Staglon (Guyana)

Michael Wilson (Caymans)

Dan Woosede (Bahamas)