May 16, 2008
KPS runs away with the Nestle Milo Juvenile Athletics Championship

The Kingstown Preparatory School (KPS) ran away last Saturday, at the Victoria Park, with the title of Nestle Milo Juvenile Athletics Champion, when they amassed 271 points. Sporting the largest contingent of the twenty-five participating schools, KPS also captured seven of the individual awards that were at stake.{{more}}

Yohance Culzac was the Male Under-6 champion; Rayshawn Nanton secured the Female Under -6, Donte Quamina, the Male Under-8, and Shivorn Joslyn, the Female Under-8 title.

The KPS dominance saw Alvron Harry capturing the Male Under-10, with Kacey Browne securing the Female segment of that age group. The other title to be secured by the KPS was the Male Under-12. The title went to Zach Peters.

The Marriaqua Government School, through the efforts of Denicia James, was the winner in the Female Under-12. Brandon Parris of the Thomas Saunders Secondary School was the Male Under-14 winner, with Aaliyah Providence of the C W Prescod Primary School, the Female champion among the Under 14’s.

Keron Arthur of the St. Vincent Grammar School had the highest individual points, 30, as he easily ran away with the Male Under-16 crown. Partnering him in this age group was Lori Jack of the St. Joseph’s Convent Marriaqua, who copped the Female crown.

Established athletes Yurnic Nanton and Nadia Delplesche copped the Male and Female Under-18 titles, respectively. Nanton represented the Petit Bordel Secondary and Delplesche, the Dr. JP Eustace Memorial.

Trailing the KPS in a distant second place was the Park Hill Government with 128 points. Thomas Saunders was third with 115 and the C W Prescod docked in fourth with 101 points.

Forty events engrossed the enthusiastic students, many of whom were running in their first major meet.

The event put on by Team Athletics SVG saw the presence of a number of parents and guardians who offered moral support for their children and wards.

Athletes received their medals at last Saturday’s Meet, but the age group winners will have to wait until December when TASVG will recognize them in their annual presentation ceremony. (RT)