Premier Cricket title in dead heat
July 6, 2007
Premier Cricket title in dead heat

At the end of the last round of the RBTT Premier Division of the national cricket competition, the points standings read Rivals out front on 64 points and Victors One second with 60 points, both with one match to go, setting up a tense final round.{{more}}

Rivals remaining fixture is Police One, with Victors having Saints to meet.

But Spartans on 52 points can upset the apple cart as they also have Saints in their final opponent.

The three way race at the top will be determined after the Carnival celebrations as the competition takes a break this weekend.

Rivals put themselves in pole position with an outright win over 2006 champion Police Two at the Sion Hill Playing Field.

An eleven wicket haul by Olanzo Jackson was the architect of Rivals win. Jackson bagged 6 for 56 in Police’s first innings of 146. Elmore Alexander 38 and Parnel Browne and Calvin Glasgow both got 30.

Rivals responded with 181 with Jackson topscoring with 50. Mohammed Lavia was Police’s top bowler with 4 for 41.

Jackson then had figures of 5 for 25, to take his tally for the season to 53, as Police stopped at 102. Rolando Wilkinson was equally contributory with 5 for 55.Requiring 68 to win; Rivals knocked it off losing one wicket in the process. Harley Skerritt hit a quick fire 40 not out, that included 5 fours and a six.

But previous front runner Victors One lost on first innings to Radcliffe at Arnos Vale.

Playing without several of their younger players who are on assignment with the St Vincent and the Grenadines Under-19 team in St. Lucia, Victors batting did not come to terms with the spin duo of Mahlon John and Dyke Cato. John 4 for 51 and Cato 4 for 30 collaborated to dismiss Victors for 145. Radcliffe after losing three early wickets clawed back to erase that total reaching 192. Lynden James made 42, JoeFloyd John 40 and Drumo Toney 31. Hank Hall 3 for 66 and Norlan Williams 3 for 58 were Victors two performers with the ball.

Victors were 143 for 4, when the match was called off. John had three of the wickets to have fallen as he finished with 47 for the season. Denis Byam was 45 not out and veteran player Bertram Stapleton 31 not out. Radcliffe finished their quota of seven matches with 60 points.

While there is intrigue in the premier division, Log Masters formalised their hold on the Bottlers First Division with a first innings triumph over Saints at Buccament.

The Masters amassed 254 for 8. Urias King 67 not out, Bradley Brooker 58 and Junior Bacchus 40 were their principal scorers. Saints were bowled out for 125. Elric Morris was their leading scorer with 38. Harvey Pope took 5 for 32 bowling for the newly crowned champion Log Masters.(RT)