Lottery throws support behind softball tourney
December 3, 2004
Lottery throws support behind softball tourney

The 2005 Top Belair Softball Cricket Competition is certain to be sponsored for the ninth year by the National Lotteries Authority.

This was disclosed by the marketing manager of that institution, Kumar Persaud, at the closing ceremony of the 2004 version two weeks ago at the Dauphine Playing Field.{{more}}

Persaud said he and the Lottery were pleased with the organization of the competition.

This year marked the 22nd year of the competition and it was of its usual high standard and keen rivalry.

Troublesome Eleven will reign as the League Champions for the next 12 months.

The youthful outfit rose to the occasion, beating Vinlec Shot Callers in the final, contested two Saturdays ago.

In 25.1 overs, Troublesome Eleven were bowled out for 115, with Deron Bute making a top score of 29. A contribution of 26 extras conceded by Shot Callers helped Troublesome Eleven’s cause.

This total looked an easy task for Shot Callers.

With vocal support from their merry band of supporters, Shot Callers were picking up runs at will, and were on course for a first lien on the title.

Shot Callers were cruising at 75 for 5, and their supporters celebrating.

A combination of some good, tight bowling by Troublesome Eleven, and panic on the part of Shot Callers’ lower order, saw them gradually losing the advantage.

Two needless run outs eventually brought the demise of Shot Callers, and the elation of the Troublesome Eleven posse who were subdued for the greater part of the match.

Terrance Patterson, who threatened to seize the title with his 22, and Deron Henry’s 17, proved to be insufficient as they folded at 102. Stafford Joseph, 3 for 21, and Sally Franklyn, 2 for 22, ran through Shot Callers’ batting tail.

Patterson, who in the Troublesome Eleven’s innings captured 3 for 20, was named Man of the Match.

Troublesome Eleven pocketed $1500 and a trophy, while Shot Callers had to settle for $1000 and a trophy.

In other prizes dished out last Saturday afternoon, Dill Clarke of Pine Hill Diary Nice Radio Clinchers secured the prize for scoring the most runs in the competition. He tallied 216 runs.

Brian Davis of Kingstown Hill United, with 15 scalps, captured the Most Wickets award, while Andre Hunte of Carib Pearl Snipers was voted the Best All Rounder. Hunte tallied 101 runs and bagged 13 wickets.

For the second year Stein Joseph of Kelbourney Bangers was voted the Most Promising Player. He received, once again, the Crispin Taxi Service trophy.

Diamond Demolishers was voted the Most Disciplined Team, and received the Urias “Tommy” King trophy.

CEM Five Roads won the Knock-out trophy. They pocketed $700, while beaten finalists Troublesome Eleven gained $500.

Apart from these zone winners, Man of the Match winners and quarter finalists in the league competition all received cash awards.

Over $10,000 in cash was paid out at Saturday’s event.

Twenty (20) teams participated in this year’s tournament.