Vincy cricketer gets West Indies call
November 12, 2004
Vincy cricketer gets West Indies call

Vincentian medium pacer Deighton Butler has a chance of getting on to the West Indies squad for The Tri-Nation-Limited Overs VB Series involving Australia, Pakistan. Butler, a left arm seamer and useful lower order left arm batsman from the North Central Windward village of South Rivers, is one of six newcomers to a 25-man training party. {{more}}

Butler earned his call on the basis of consistent bowling performances during the just concluded One-Day Regional competition.

The other newcomers are Jamaican teenager Xavier Marshall; his Jamaican compatriot Dwight Washington; Trinidad and Tobago players Sherwin Ganga and Dinesh Ramdin; and Guyana’s Narsingh Deonarine.

The rest of the squad is Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Bravo, Courtney Browne, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Darren Ganga, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Wavell Hinds, Reon King, Brian Lara, Runako Morton, Ricardo Powell, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Devon Smith.

The squad will be trimmed to 14 for the series, which bowls off January 14, 2005 in Australia with a day/night encounter, Australia versus West Indies at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Australia plays Pakistan at Hobart, 16; Pakistan against West Indies at Brisbane Cricket Ground, 19; another day/night match Australia versus West Indies, Brisbane Cricket Ground, 21; day/night Australia and Pakistan, Sydney Cricket Ground, 23; day/night Australia against West Indies, Adelaide Oval, 26; Pakistan versus West Indies, Adelaide Oval, 28; Australia and Pakistan at W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth, 30.

Action continues with Pakistan and West Indies, W.A.C.A. Ground, Perth, February 1.

The first Final is at Melbourne Cricket Ground, 4, the second at Sydney Cricket Ground, 6, and the third Final, Adelaide Oval, 8.