Writers, poets work to be honoured at National Literary Fair
October 11, 2013

Writers, poets work to be honoured at National Literary Fair

Vincentian writers and poets, who are making their mark both locally and internationally, will be honoured for their works in the literary world.{{more}}

During the four-day National Literary Fair, which will be held from October 17 to October 20, various poets and writers will receive awards from the Vincentian Association of Artists, Writers and Producers Inc.

President of the association, Réne Baptiste noted that it is important for these persons to be honoured, particularly while they are still alive.

“It is our intention to do these awards while people are alive and can enjoy the honour bestowed by their fellow citizens,” Baptiste said, while speaking at the launch of the Literary Fair.

On October 17, during the official opening ceremony for the fair, one “well deserved Vincentian” will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for Literature and Performing Arts.

Baptiste highlighted that this is one of the awards that was inaugurated by the association in 2012 and that its first recipient was Dr Edgar Adams.

In addition, the president noted that Beryl Richards was also honoured for her longstanding service to the St Vincent Music Association.

“It is our intention again this year, to also honour two persons for their contribution to the Music Association of St Vincent and the Grenadines,” Baptiste said.

Other Vincentians are also slated to receive awards from the association on October 18, at the event dubbed “An Evening of Poetry with the Masters”.

Charmaine Shallow will receive the National Poetry Award for 2013, which she earned by winning the Writers’ Flow National Heroes Day competition in March.

Shallow will also take home the award for Young Poet of the Year.

The Nelcia Robertson-Hazell Woman Poet of the Year Award will go to Jeneille Lewis, while the Cecil Blazer Williams Male Poet of the Year Award will be presented to Kelvin Pompey.

Josiah Bobb will receive the Ellsworth “Shake” Keane International Poet of the Year Award. (BK)