ECCB Monetary Council changes chairmanship
September 3, 2013

ECCB Monetary Council changes chairmanship

Chairmanship of the Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) will be transferred to Dr Kenny D. Anthony, council member for St Lucia,during the official Handing Over Ceremony tomorrow, September 4, at the Sandals Grande St Lucian Resort, St Lucia.{{more}}

Prime Minister Anthony will succeed the outgoing chairman, Dr Denzil L Douglas, council member for St Kitts and Nevis. Chairmanship of the Council is rotated alphabetically each year among the eight ECCB member countries.

The Monetary Council is the highest decision making authority of the ECCB and comprises the eight Ministers for Finance of the ECCB member governments.

Following the Handing Over Ceremony, the Council will convene for its Second Special Meeting for 2013.

Following the meeting, the newly appointed chairman, Prime Minister Anthony, will present the communiqué and along with the other members of the Council, will field questions from media representatives in St Lucia.