November 9, 2012

Nomination process for the next national hero of SVG commences

Invitations are invited from the public for nominations for the conferment of the order of national hero.{{more}}

A release from the National Heroes Advisory Committee said individuals, groups, organizations, clubs, associations, institutions, societies and student bodies are invited to make submissions.

The Committee, which held its first meeting on October 31, is made up of eight Vincentians.

A release from the Committee said the Committee is chaired by former Minister of Culture René Baptiste and includes Hans King, Dr Edgar Adams, John Horne, Curtis King, Aubrey Burgin, Jomo Thomas and Monty Maule.

The National Heroes Advisory Committee has been named in accordance with the Order of National Heroes Act Cap 5 of the Revised Laws of St Vincent & the Grenadines, 2009.

At the first meeting of the Committee, an agenda and plan of activities, with instructions to prepare its budget was set out.

The preliminary programme will include general publicity on the process of recommendations for the conferment of the Order of National Heroes; publication of notices for recommendations; Public Service announcements; regular broadcasts-weekly announcements on API; tele-classifieds, talk-shows and a Facebook page, the release said.

Criteria for nominations are published in today’s SEARCHLIGHT. Submissions must reach the Committee no later than December 17, 2012. The Committee will also hosts consultations around the state in January 2013. Organizations and persons in the diaspora are invited to participate in this national exercise.